In Search of Bacchus

by

For my final entry, I thought I would share with you all an eccentric hobby of mine. While I travel, I am always on the lookout for Dionysus, the Greek god of wine and theater. Allow me to share with you a very small bit of my collection of images documenting my encounter with the god. These are from my Florence and Paris collection:

One of the statues is that of a Maenad, one of Dionysus’s followers.

This is a fun little hobby, and I suggest you try it out.

Well… I guess I’d better get back to packing.

Cheers,

-Michael

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “In Search of Bacchus”

  1. jay Says:

    hello there,

    I came across this post after watching an episode of true blood on HBO….
    The maenad in the show sparked my interest lol

  2. Michael Says:

    Hey Jay,

    This was a blog for a class that a few of my peers and I collaborated on. I’m surprised you found this entry!

    Yeah, the Maenad in True Blood is a pretty cool character but only shares a few similarities with the actual Maenads of Dionysian myth. Read Euripides’ “The Bacchae” (a classic text available everywhere) for a more accurate, though dramatic, version of the mythic followers of Dionysus. They had the power to rip people apart in their frenzy, but I don’t think any of them grew long, ugly arms in the process.

    Also, the British Museum has published many of the myths of Dionysus in a novel form–it’s a nice change of pace from the typically dry academic texts. I don’t have it with me or else I’d give you more information about it.

    Have fun,

    Michael

Leave a Reply

